2017 Project Cha Cha – February Update

Dear Connie,
As you know, my new year’s resolution for 2017 is to get some of 20 (I found another one since last month) projects that were lurking in my house OFF the needles!  The rules for are: two projects from pre-2017 must be completed prior to casting on anything new. Two projects down, one new one – hence the “cha cha”.

I’ve done pretty well this month, despite managing to locate a previously undiscovered UFO and add it to the overall tally AND thinking something was finished when it needed to be ripped out and re-done.  All told, I completed four projects, and cast on two.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t in that order…

There was this scarf…and this yarn…and at the beginning of the month I accidentally tripped and started it before I had finished any more projects!  I give you the Rainbow Sherbet Scarf:

2017-02-05-18-48-57

The pattern is Diamond Exchange (on Ravelry).  The off-white is a mystery Japanese yarn that was gifted to me and the rainbow is Knit Picks Chroma in Groovy.  I was so overcome with guilt at violating Project Cha Cha that I quickly finished…

2017-02-07-06-04-46-1


the Joker and the Thief Shawl in SweetGeorgia Tough Love Sock (colors Honeyfig and the Party of Five mini-skeins in Graphite) and my Wispy Cardi.  No picture of the latter yet, because the bind-off around the neck was much too tight and will have to be ripped out and re-done.  I dutifully removed it from finished status and went in search of another project to atone for my misdeeds.

2017-02-13-17-34-17

This is Chloe by Alana Dakos – done in a sequined white cotton blend from one of the Japanese dollar stores.  I had made it in size 4 for my then 4-year-old, then neglected to complete the buttonholes until she was six.  Naturally this no longer fits her, and had been relegated to “doll clothes.”

Well, it was about this time that a friend asked me to make her baby a hat.  Because it’s a present, I won’t show the progress pictures until she’s got it in her hands.  Still, gift or no, a new project meant getting two more done before I could cast on.

2017-02-24-06-34-07

Thanks to long post office lines and excruciating ID card waiting rooms, I was able to complete two pairs of socks.  These purple ones are out of the Crazy Zauberball (color Fliederduft, which apparently means “isolated”) and have an afterthought heel.

2017-02-26-15-44-55

These blue ones are Lion Brand Sock-Ease Prints (colorway – the inventively named Blue Orange), and have afterthought EVERYTHING!  I have had these at my desk for over a year.  They’re my computer-based training, forgot to bring my knitting, go-to waiting project because I started by knitting a very long tube with ribbing on the beginning and the end.  Last weekend I severed the tube in the middle, added some toes to the new ends, then added afterthought heels.  Voila!  A new pair of socks!

That’s my progress this month.  Next month there might be a finished sweater…

2017 Stats as of 2/28/17:
17 projects on the needles
6 projects OFF the needles
14 from before 2017, 3 after
Overall % completion 1/1/17: 46%
Overall % completion 2/28/17: 60%

Onward – to victory!

~ Lindsay

