Pomatomus Knit-Along

Dear Connie,

Who put the Pom in the Pom-a-tom-a-tomus?

Who put the Knit in the Knit-a-long-a-ding-dong?

Sorry, this sock name just makes me giggle!  I know it’s after fish and their scales, but it’s funny-sounding.  So…in the wee hours of the Japanese morning I contacted you to let you know I was “feeling sock-y” and we decided on a Cookie A pattern.  Specifically this one!  First up: yarn selection.

I pulled my 3 skeins of SweetGeorgia Yarns Tough Love Sock and picked the bright green, Pistachio.

2016-07-24 05.36.38

After a cursory review of the pattern, I knew I had to use my Signatures!  These wicked pointy size 2’s are my go-to for most socks, but as soon as someone says “through the back loop” they seem like the only choice.  (Plus, they didn’t have anything on them and I didn’t want them to think I didn’t love them…)

2016-07-24 18.23.23

Pictured here is almost a full repeat of Chart A – I wanted to catch the good light while I could!  This is one day’s work (this sock is addictive).  There are some mistakes:

  • I jacked the set-up row by misinterpreting the repeat instructions.  Instead of “yo, k2tog, (*p1, k1tbl)”, I did “*yo, k2tog, p1, k1tbl”.  There are a lot of extra yarn-overs!
  • Then I repeated the first row of Chart A unnecessarily…
  • And later I found a spot where I had neglected to decrease and I had to finagle a k3tbl.  Only with Signatures!!

2016-07-25 17.51.54

But here I am at the end of two repeats of Chart A and going like gang-busters.  Considering I have a complete repeat of Chart A before the heel flap, I think this sock is going to be quite tall.  Which is good, because I’ll be able to wear it with my boots without them rubbing on my shins.

Anywho, I’m so excited to be working on something with you again!

Love, Lindsay

